Word of the Week – Part 2

Two days ago I asked people for their help in suggesting words I could use for a Word of the Week in my classroom.

Despite this being the summer holidays I had a plethora of responses with a vast array of words with gravitas (see I just used four of the suggestions in this sentence alone).

Of these I have picked the words that I think will be most useful to my students and that they can use in the widest possible number of scenarios, for example I love the word pontificate but couldn’t think of many times you might want to use it.

In the next week I’ll turn these chosen few into posters and include this on the blog so you can download and use them if you want. But in the meantime here’s thirty of the best. Thanks to everyone who took the time in their holidays to suggest a word or five!

  • Hypothesis
  • Contentious
  • Plethora
  • Appease
  • Cumulative
  • Oblivious
  • Catalyst
  • Zeitgeist
  • Justified
  • Archetype
  • Atypical
  • Zenith
  • Reverberates
  • Divergent
  • Perception
  • Usurp
  • Hegemony
  • Cataclysmic
  • Hypocrisy
  • Gravitas
  • Resilient
  • Paradigm
  • Audacity
  • Epitome
  • Hitherto
  • Poignant
  • Ostracised
  • Exacerbate
  • Juxtaposition
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word of the Week – Part 2

  1. Carol Stobbs says:

    I love this, I have tried to start something similar but these words will give me a kick start, thanks.

Leave a Reply

