Simon Schama – still my blooming hero two years on

Nearly two years I went to see Simon Schama speak at a Historical Association event about his thoughts on the history curriculum. I blogged about it then: Simon Schama – still my hero (phew)

A lot has changed since then! Notably we’ve finally seen a version of the history curriculum from the wisdom of Mr Gove.

There has been some great criticism of the curriculum from different corners but finally this week in Hay on Wye, Schama let rip his opinions. Unfortunately I wasn’t there (I was in Berlin, maybe more on that later) but a transcript of the talk was made and is available over at the fab www.historyworks.tv – if you have a spare five minutes do go and read it. It’s fantastic and Schama was clearly on form.

This quote is probably the best from a very good speech:

“Now I’m sure that Michael Gove did not actually want to give us 1066 and All That without the jokes, but that is pretty much what we’ve got I think!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

